COUNCIL MEETING – 13TH OCTOBER 2011

Extract from the Minutes of the Constitution Committee Meeting on 22nd September 2011

23 HONORARY ALDERMEN

The Committee considered the recommendations of the Civic Sub-Committee in relation to conferring on former Members of the Council the title of Honorary Alderman.

The Civic Sub-Committee at its meeting on 7th September 2011, having considered a report on the matter, had resolved as follows:

That

- (1) the Constitution Committee be asked to recommend to Council that
 - 1. the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on the following former Members of the Council:

Mr Ainsley Arnold Mr David Cannon Mr Ray Westwood Mr Andrew Knowles Mr Tony Ranfield Mr John Goddard

- the formal ceremony take place at a special meeting of the Council to be held on a day other than the day of an ordinary Council meeting;
- 3. the ceremonial procedure set out in paragraph 6.6 of the report be approved for the special Council meeting;
- (2) the Officers identify a suitable date, time and venue for the special Council meeting in consultation with the Chairman and Vice-Chairman and report thereon to the Constitution Committee; and
- (3) the Communications Officer ascertain whether there are any other events of an appropriate civic nature which could be dealt with at the special Council meeting.

With regard to resolution (3), the Communications Officer had identified a number of individuals who could be considered for Freedom of the Borough. It was felt, however, that this should be pursued as a separate process and not attached to the Honorary Alderman ceremony.

Officers reported that the Lyceum Theatre, Crewe had been identified as a suitable venue for the special Council meeting and relevant Members were

being consulted on a number of optional dates in November. Final arrangements would be determined in consultation with the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Civic Sub-Committee.`

RESOLVED

That Council be recommended that

(1) the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on the following former Members of the Council:

Mr Ainsley Arnold Mr David Cannon Mr Ray Westwood Mr Andrew Knowles Mr Tony Ranfield Mr John Goddard

- (2) the formal ceremony take place at a special meeting of the Council to be held on a day other than the day of an ordinary Council meeting, the arrangements to be determined in consultation with the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Civic-Sub-Committee; and
- (3) the ceremonial procedure set out in paragraph 6.6 of the Appendix be approved for the special Council meeting.